Punjabi Wadi Kadhi

Punjabi Wadi Kadhi

Kadhi is a yoghurt based gravy just like the South Indian Morkuzhambu. Morekuzhambu uses a paste of cumin, mustard, green chillies and coconut. Unlike Kadhi there is no garlic or onion in morekuzhambu. I frequently prepare morekuzhambu but I still love all yoghurt based gravies.

The other day during my usual grocery shopping at an Indian store, I found a pack of ‘Punjabi Wadis’. Without an idea of what they were, I just picked it up. A few weeks later, on a Friday evening when my refrigerator was almost depleted, the usual topic of ‘What’s for dinner’ had started. With no onions and tomatoes in hand, I suddenly remembered the humble kadhi I tried a few years ago. I had tried Gujarati Kadhi and Bihari Kadhi not the Kadhi with pakodas. This time I decided to use up the Punjabi wadis instead of pakodis and prepare the Pakodi Kadhi. Or should I call the ‘Punjabi Wadi’ Kadhi?

Punjabi Wadi Kadhi

Ingredients: 

1. Store bought Punjabi Wadi – 6

2. Sour Yoghurt – 2 Cups

3. Besan or Gram Flour – 2 tbspn

4. Salt to taste

5. Green chili and garlic paste – 1/4 tsp

6. Coriander Leaf to garnish

To Temper: 

1. Oil

2. Cumin Seeds – 1/4 tsp

3. Cinnamon stick – 1

4. Curry Leaf – 1 spring

Preparation:

1. I used my Aebleskiver Pan to fry the punjabi wadis. You can break them and shallow fry as well

2. In a deep bowl, mix gram flour with 1/4 cup of water and mix it well and make sure there are no lumps. I used a hand blender

3. Next add the yoghurt and 1 cup water to the bowl. Followed by turmeric powder, salt and garlic-green chilli paste. Blend well

4. In a sauce pan, heat oil. Temper cumin seeds, cinnamon stick and curry leaves. Lower the flame and pour in the yoghurt mixture. Taste test and add salt if needed. The Kadhi should not boil.

5. Switch off, add the punjabi wadis to the kadhi and let it sit for 30 minutes. Warm the kadhi just before serving and garnish with finely chopped fresh coriander leaves

One thought on “Punjabi Wadi Kadhi

Leave a Reply

