Pongal – Cooking with Instant Pot electric cooker

Pongal

Ven Pongal

Pongal is an ultimate comfort food. Its made of rice and moong dal (payatham paruppu) along with cumin seeds and pepper corns. Its a satisfying breakfast or brunch recipe. Pair it with kathirikai gosthu and you have a winner. I had been making pongal and never thought of posting this recipe. Making pongal is a wee but tedious in my household due to the amount of cleaning involved afterwards. I usually prepare it in my pressure cooker and end up with the tough task of cleaning the pressure cooker. Way back in Chennai, I’ve seen my Mom and Mil keep a vessel inside their big pressure cooker and cook pongal inside the vessel. Thereby they don’t go thru the tedious process of cleaning the pressure cooker. Here in the US I don’t have my big cooker. Plus I am not for the process the moving the heavy cooker up and down the range.

Recently I found a great solution to all my problems. The genie is called ‘Instant Pot‘. Instant Pot is an electric pressure cooker. It does all that a pressure cooker can do without the hassle. Read no sound, no mess and no standing near. Now as my favorite pongal is getting cooked, I am drafting a blog post 😉

I am no way compensated by Instant Pot to write this post. I am just writing this as it will be useful for others and also for me when I refer few years later.

So today I am going to explain how to make that mushy tasty pongal.

Ingredients for Pongal 

White Rice – 1 cup

Moong dal – 1/4 cup

Turmeric powder – 1/4 tsp

Cumin seeds – 1/2 tsp

Pepper corns – 1/4 tsp (around 10 – 12)

Asafoetida – 1 pinch

Ginger – 1/4 inch finely chopped

Curry Leaves – 3 or 4

Water – 4 cups

Salt – to taste

Preparation:

Electric cooker method: 

1. Coarsely grind pepper, cumin in a mortar pestle

2. Turn on Instant pot pressure cooker’s saute function. Add oil to the vessel. After a minute add coarsely ground pepper, cumin seeds. Saute for 1 minute. Add cashew, ginger, curry leaves, asafoetida, turmeric powder

3. Add washed rice and moong dal. Saute well. Add water, salt

4. Close the electric cooker. Select ‘Beans’. If you want to delay the start, you can press adjust and add hours. I usually keep my cooker assembled at night and program it to start cooking by 7 AM.

5. If you don’t prefer to delay, just press beans and it will cook the pongal for 30 mins right away

Alternatively, you might add 1 and a half glass water to the electric cooker and place the ingredients for pongal in a separate vessel inside the cooker. This way you can cook veggies, dal or rice alongside pongal.

The pongal made in the electric cooker was very well cooked but not mushy once done. I had to give it a stir to achieve the consistency

Pressure Cooker Method:

If you don’t own an electric cooker, you can still prepare this tasty pongal in a pressure cooker

1. Coarsely grind pepper, cumin in a mortar pestle

2. Heat oil in a pan. After a minute add coarsely ground pepper, cumin seeds. Saute for 1 minute. Add cashew, ginger, curry leaves, asafoetida, turmeric powder

3. Add washed moong dal,rice and salt and mix well

4. Transfer the contents of the pan to a vessel which can be kept inside the pressure cooker. Add water to the contents. Pressure cook for 3 whistles.

Serve this pongal with Kathrikai Gosthu

 

One thought on “Pongal – Cooking with Instant Pot electric cooker

Leave a Reply

